An Introduction

Hi. I’m Cady: a soon-to-be 22 year-old on her way to her first year as a graduate student.

The handsome man pictured with me above is my loving and often pesky husband, Eric. We’re young and living the high life as poor newlyweds.

I gotta shoot straight with you, nonexistent readers, I’m starting this blog because of a post I saw on Pinterest about the 10 books every girl should read in her twenties that really got me fired up.  You can see my comment featured under the clever pseudonym of “Common Sense”.  All day, I kept seeing every woman I followed repinning this post and lauding its genius, which, as you can read… I just don’t understand. Obsessive compulsive as I am, since I commented on the post a while ago, I’ve been returning to see how the comment section played out.  A lot of people thanked me for my comments, some harassed me with the bizarre logic that if I didn’t like it I shouldn’t read it, and some kind of pretended to agree with me but really just wanted to show how smart they were and all the awesome books they’ve read (I’ve read House of Leaves, too, sweetie… it doesn’t make you that awesome).  As far as I’m concerned, anyone who puts Jane Austen on blast as chick-lit deserves to be drawn and quartered–but, I digress.

Tonight, I returned, yet again to the comment section, and I saw a challenge issued from (what I imagine to be) some wise old woman a la ancient Rose on Titanic encouraging those who didn’t like it to create their own list.  I’d been considering it for some time, in addition to creating a forum to house the reviews of books I’ve read this summer and my future graduate school shenanigans.  So I resurrected some old blog created during a finals week past and here we are (who is we? no one is reading this).

Look forward to my take on 10 books every girl should read in her twenties in the upcoming weeks (Again, implied you… writing to no one is a very strange and vain process).  Anticipate an appearance of Margaret Atwood, Simone de Beauvoir, and the Goddess Austen herself.  It’ll be a doozy, I promise, and completely relevant and accessible to even the most vapid girls in their twenties.  (Ok, maybe I’ll make de Beauvoir extra credit).

Maybe some day I’ll be a famous blogger and people will return to this post and laugh at how uncomfortable I was with the process. I’m going to guess no, since book blogs don’t seem to be the most en vogue.

Au revoir,

CJ

3 thoughts on “An Introduction

  1. I, too, checked back on that comment section following making my own list, and found your trackback. I agreed with your initial comment completely, and also laughed at the person who conflated Austen and modern chick-lit. I’m sure you’ll have good recommendations!

  2. Kat says:

    Thank you for this! That list was borderline offensive. However, I don’t think Kate (the girl who mentioned House of Leaves) was conflating Jane Austen and modern chick lit, she was just saying she wasn’t interested in either.

  3. Amber says:

    I would love to read your suggestions! I love Jane Austen, but wasn’t particularly interested in any of the other books mentioned. You;re not writing to no-one anymore!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

